Wrexham Council homepage


About The Council

The Council (52 members)

Wrexham County Borough Council has 52 Councillors representing 47 wards. They are democratically elected every four years and form the ultimate decision making body from which all other elements in the structure derive their authority.

Political Management of the Council

In advance of the Local Government Act 2000 the Council approved new political management structures comprising:

The Mayor elected annually Chairs the Council but also carries out a range of civic duties.

Council Departments

The Council as a unitary authority provides the full range of local authority services which people rely on - from home care to refuse collection. The Council operates through Departments - each with responsibility for delivering specific services in support of the strategic aims and corporate policies of the Council.