Wrexham Council homepage


Green Flag Award

The Green Flag Award® scheme is the benchmark national standard for parks and green spaces in the UK.

It was first launched in 1996 to recognise and reward the best green spaces in the country. The first awards were given in 1997 and, many years later; it continues to provide the benchmark against which our parks and green spaces are measured. It is also seen as a way of encouraging others to achieve high environmental standards, setting a benchmark of excellence in recreational green areas.

The award is made up of 8 key criteria, which are marked as part of a visit by specialist judges or a mystery shopper. Each site must also submit a comprehensive management plan detailing how the park is managed. The eight key criteria are:

  1. A welcoming place
  2. Healthy, safe and secure
  3. Clean and well maintained 
  4. Sustainability 
  5. Conservation and heritage 
  6. Community involvement 
  7. Marketing 
  8. Management

At present Wrexham County Borough Council manages 5 Green Flag Award winning sites:

For further information please visit www.greenflagaward.org.uk (external link)